The bill on the fundamental principles of research declared admissible by the Senate

Kinshasa, April 3rd, 2021, (CPA) .- The bill of the senator, Guy Loando Mboyo, determining the fundamental principles relating to scientific research and technological innovation, was declared admissible and sent to a mixed economic commission financial and infrastructure and land use planning for further consideration. The Senate plenary, convened under the chairmanship of the President of the Upper House of Parliament, Prof.

Modeste Bahati Lukwebo, made this decision after the response of the author, Guy Loando, to the concerns raised by the senators during the presentation of the economy of the text, November 2nd, 2020. According to the author, from all points of view, there is an urgent need to see the DRC revitalize scientific research and technological innovation. On this occasion, Senator Guy Loando spoke about the issue relating to the creation of the National Agency for the Promotion of Research Results (ANAVAR).

The creation of ANAVAR is justified by the need, according to him, to promote and exploit the results of research work by a specific structure. This would focus in particular on the rational and systematic exploitation and enhancement of research results, the promotion of the interests of researchers, the promotion and protection of industrial property.

In February 2016, the first Continental Free Trade Area Negotiating Forum took place in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia. The same month, a meeting was held in Abidjan to prepare for this forum, bringing together, in addition to the regional communities listed above, members of the United Nations, the African Union, the African Development Bank and members of the civil society. In May 2016, the second Continental Free Trade Area Negotiating Forum was held in Addis Ababa. It aims to define the contours of the AfCFTA, all in collaboration with the United Nations and the African Union. On March 21st, 2018, 44 countries signed up at a summit in Kigali. A few other countries that have reservations do not join the project, such as Nigeria, Burundi, Eritrea, Namibia and Sierra Leone At the end of December, there remained only the ratification of 7 states out of the 22 necessary for its implementation. On April 29th, 2019, the 22 state threshold is reached with the ratification of Western Sahara and Sierra Leone On July 7th, 2019, the President of Nigeria, Muhamma du Buhari, and the President of Benin, Patrice Talon, sign the free trade agreement at an African Union summit in Niamey, Niger, bringing to 54 the number of signatory countries.

Eritrea becomes the only African country not to have joined the AfCFTA. On December 15th, ,2019, Algeria approves the ratification of the free trade agreement. On February 10, 2020, after several days of debate, the South African Wamkele Keabetswe Mene was elected Secretary General of the African Continental Free Trade Area. On November 11th, 2020, Nigeria approves the ratification of the free trade agreement On November 30th, 2020, Tunisia and Lesotho signs it in turn; the next day, Cameroon approves the ratification in turn. Morocco initiated a legislative process in 2019 to allow ratification of the agreement, but until December 2020, ratification had not yet taken place. In August 2020, the secretariat of the free trade area is inaugurated in Accra, Ghana. On January 1st, 2021, the AfCFTA is put in place for countries that have ratified the agreement, while this implementation was initially scheduled for July 1, 2020, but it was delayed due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Fil d'actualités

Sur le même sujet